New Year, Resolution & Reading Challenge Update #1

Happy 2015!



Hopefully you were able to celebrate with your family, your friends and a little bit (read: A LOT) of alcohol.  


I don’t know about you, but a New Year for me usually means another opportunity to make resolutions that never make it past the planning stage. It is day two of 2015 – I am DETERMINED, I will be held accountable and I will accomplish at least one thing on my list. I have a good support system and I will have them light that fire under my ass when I start to slack off.


Hence, this little venture. 


If you’re reading this book blog, then I’m sure you are familiar with the phrase “I read a lot”. 


That doesn’t even describe what I do.

I read like I breathe.

There is no other way to describe it. If you don’t believe me, feel free to follow my READ list on Goodreads. It’s the only way I can keep track of what I’ve already read. I might have a hard time accomplishing “simple” tasks, but I’ve never had any problems finding opportunities to read. 


My friends here have the same problem. We decided some number of months ago that we should start a book club, which then somehow turned into a book blog and then “About a Book” was born. Only when we tried to create that account Google wouldn’t let us, so we opted for the name “Much about a Book”. Same thing with a little ode to Shakespeare (kind of). 


We haven’t quite figured out what  we are about yet, so grant us a bit of forgiveness as we try to put that together. Don’t worry, just because we don’t have a game plan doesn’t mean that we aren’t going to keep pushing forward. We decided early on that one of the things we wanted to do was a Reading Challenge. Melissa found us this fun one. 


So our first mission as we’ve chose to accept is PopSugar’s Ultimate Reading Challenge. #ChallengeAccepted


Each person will post their progress as they complete. We haven’t decided yet if we will be following up with book reviews or not, so for now, here’s my read list. 


Yes, I’ve read 6 books since it’s struck midnight on the 1st. In case you are wondering, these are not in the order that I read them:


1. The Pact by Karina Halle

 

It was recommended by one of my favorite book bloggers, Maryse. Plus it was only 99cents and I hate paying billions dollars for books. 

2. Stepbrother Dearest by Penelope Ward

 

I  didn’t really have any intention of reading this book, but it’s been popping up on my Recommended List . I’m sick, don’t have to work and am not ready to move forward with any of my WANT TO READS, so I thought “Why Not?”



3. Stepbrother Billionaire by Colleen Masters

 

After reading the previous, this one popped up. Despite the high ratings, reviews were very negative, based mostly on the argument that “it’s the same story line”. I don’t know who I was trying to prove wrong, but I decided to read it. Final Thoughts? I’ll agree. The previous was better.  


4. Change of Hart by M.E. Carter

 

Also a pop up on my Amazon Recommended. It was something easy to read. I like that it’s from the male’s POV. 


5. Jinxed by Donna Augustine 

 

Confession: I only read the first book because the cover was awesome. After reading the blurb, I found that the idea of the series was also pretty awesome. 


I really want to love this series since it is so unique, but after I’m done I have more questions (not the good kind) than answers.


6. The Color of Heaven by Julianne MacLean

 

This book has been in my library forever. I made this deal with myself that before I buy an excessive number of books in a day, I’ll first read something that I already own and haven’t read. 


This one reminds me of “Heaven is For Real”.

Leave a Reply

