Book Review: Voilition | Lily Paradis

If you haven’t noticed, I have this thing about words. One of the great things about reading ebooks is that I can highlight the heck out of it without having to feel like I’m defacing valuable pieces of art.  I’m just going to sprinkle my favorite quotes throughout this review.If I had to sum up this book in a few sentences, I would just make
veryone read this quote:

 “I don’t think love is supposed to hurt like this,” I told him. “It’s not. I think it’s supposed to hurt in a good way, but this isn’t good. This is like a virus taking over your whole body, and he’s just sitting there. He hasn’t even said a word to you, and you’re a mess. You don’t love him.”

467b0-volition

Lucky for you (me?) I don’t have a word limit.So I’m just going to sprinkle a few dozen throughout this review.

 

Meet Tate. She’s suffers from…so much. First there’s the survivor’s guilt that most likely led to the rest of her problems. She has identity issues. Is part of some kind of really unhealthy relationship. And she’s obsessed with a…)I want to say delusion, but I’ll go with)…thought that she holds as her truth. There’s more. The lack of love from her family. The lack of support. All of it cripples her.

“I survived, unlike my parents. I hadn’t drowned even though I should have. I resented death because death had rejected me. It hadn’t taken me with them. It hadn’t wanted me. It’d sunk its claws deep into me and turned me black inside, and this was who I became.”

It’s hilarious (bad word for it) the ideas that we become obsessed with when we are that young. We get these ideas stuck in our head and we make it our whole world. We think we grow up and overcome, but those things shape us. They make us who we are when we are older.

“After a few months, part of me felt like Colin and I were rubbing off on Catherine, leeching some of the good out of her. There was no way to put it back, and I hated that for her. She deserved better than us.”

Tate made it her entire identity. It is the reason for the way she thinks and acts. It is the reason behind every reason she makes. You wonder how someone can let something cripple their entire life. Lily Paradis provides the perfect example for it in this story.  I wanted so bad to convince Tate that she wasn’t doomed to darkness and gloom.

“EVANNA WYATT TORE my heart out. She ripped it straight out of my chest and threw it on the floor, and then she stomped on the bloody mess. As if that wasn’t good enough, she shoved it back in there and made me live with myself. Then, I had to walk around like that in the company of people who didn’t understand.”

You’ve heard me say this before, so I apologize for sounding like a broken record, but I love stories about broken people. I love it even more when broken people find happy ever after. My friends tell me that means I’m a romantic, I’d like to think of it as faith in the good things. There are so many people who never find happiness because they never get over it.

“So, how is it that I can hurt so, so much when I’m just a bunch of flesh and bone? No one has hit me. My body is fine. It’s my soul that aches. It’s always been my soul.”

What I loved about Tate is that she isn’t too destructive in nature. She leaves the situation. She tries to get better.She just…can’t. She has awesome friends that try to help her see the light, but she doesn’t believe she deserves it. The angst is entirely believable.  The way it all ties together.

My favorite part of this book is continuous reference to the ideas of soul mates and the idea of the Fates. I am obsessed with mythology. When I grew up, I wanted to write research papers on faith, religion and mythology. I ended up getting a “real job” that has nothing to do with writing. Anyway, I think the true genius of this book is the subtle way the author shows that you really have no idea what the Fates have planned for you, because the ending? Too perfect. In a HAH short of way.

“You’re not in love with him because every time you think of him I can see your heart shattering through your eyes.”

Leave a Reply

