Reading Challenge Update #6

The worst part about being known as a “social butterfly” is that everyone automatically thinks something is wrong when you are feeling anti-social. Better yet, they don’t believe you and proceed to find a reason. Tell them the truth? They can’t handle the truth.

When I finally confessed that I didn’t feel like socializing because I was in the middle of the Shatter Me series, they laughed and said, “No, really.” As if, me wanting to stay home and read my book(s) isn’t a good enough reason. Books are always a good reason.

Plus, my heart was absolutely breaking and I just wanted, no needed, to know WHAT. HAPPENED. NEXT. because I seriously felt that Warner is just misunderstood.

Let me take this moment to make a plug and say that if you like dystopian, end of the world, kick-ass female leads and a little romance on the side type of books – you must read this series. Seriously. Read the series. If you’re working this challenge, it’ll satisfy your author under 30 requirement or your trilogy requirement. Boom. Cue fireworks.

Speaking of the challenge is anyone finding it as difficult of as I am to stay focused? I get the point of this is to read a large variety of different genres, but all I want to do is read romance novels with a little bit of urban fantasy thrown in. Is that so much to ask? I swear I’ve spent more time researching books this year than I have ever done before. I’m not gonna deny that doing so has allowed me to find books that I happened to like/love that I might not have otherwise found, but seriously, this challenge is getting HARD.

I don’t know if you’ve been keeping up with my Goodreads challenge (currently at 82 out of 200), but someone pointed out that there were books that I’ve read that I could have used to cross items on this challenge. Which yes, totally true, only I’m trying not to use the same author to cross off multiple categories on the checklist. Since I like reading series, you can imagine my struggle. Anyway, 27 books down and 23 three more to go.

Here’s what I’m planning to read to fit the requirements, but if you’ve noticed anything about me, you know  I’ll probably be changing my mind. Numbers correspond to where they fall on the list, in case you’re confused about the count.

1) A book with more than 500 pages

2) A classic romance

3) A book that became a movie – Odd Thomas

8) A funny book

10) A mystery or thriller

12) A book of short stories

14) A nonfiction book – Beautiful Boy

17) A book a friend recommended

18) A Pulitzer Prize winning book – The Goldfinch

19) A book based on a true story – a Child Called IT

21) A book your mom (or dad) loves

23) A book more than 100 years old

25) A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t

26) A memoir

30) A book that came out the year you were born

33) A book from your childhood – perhaps a Wrinkle in Time but I’m not sure yet

35) A book set in the future – Cinder

37) A book with a color in the title40) A graphic novel

44) A book that was originally written in a different language – Dante’s Inferno

47) A play

48) A banned book

49) A book based on or turned into a TV show – The Leftovers or The 100

50) A book you started but never finished

This last week I forced myself to read three book specifically for this challenge. It was a little difficult to stay focused, not because they weren’t good, but because books like Beautiful Secret by Christina Lauren came out and let’s be real, I had to go start/finish that before I could stay focus. Can I just say that I thought I was in love with Mr. Will Stella, but Niall Stella makes me question everything I know? Haha. Anyway without further ado….or is it adieu….whatever you know what I mean.

A book with a number on the title Infinity + One

by Amy Harmon


This book was just all sorts of cute. I’m not gonna lie, it’s been on my TBR list forever, but I kept putting it off because I thought it was going to be so so sappy. I’m so glad I finally read it.

Favorite Quote:

“If it makes you feel better, let yourself pretend.”

A popular author’s first book Blindfolded Innocence

by Alessandra Torre

This was not what I was expecting, but then again I have really high expectations for anything and everything written by Alessandra Torre. She’s one of my favorite authors. I will say that it’s so very interesting to see how her writing has developed since the first book she’s published. It makes me not want to judge myself so harshly.  

Favorite Quote:

“The act of sex is healthy, normal, God-given. It’s the emotions and entitlement that everyone attaches to it that is harmful.”  

A book with antonyms in the title

Trust Me, I’m lying 

by Mary Elizabeth Sumner

I was going to read Big Little Lies for this catergory because that’s the only book I could think of, but then I decided to talk to my friend Google. Good thing I did because I found this hand books with antonyms in the title list and TAH DAH.That was a lot of words just so I could tell you that I really liked this book. It had that Veronica Mars feel and anyone who is anyone knows that Veronica Mars is the ish. I hope there’s a sequel.

Favorite Quote:

“Just once in your life, let someone else watch the world while you sleep.”

Leave a Reply

