Top 10 books (so far)

Letā€™s celebrate, šŸŽ‰šŸŽŠ Iā€™ve hit 100 books on myĀ  200 books Goodreads challenge.šŸŽŠšŸŽ‰ Yay, go me. Also, actually umā€¦ Iā€™ve read 101. Iā€™m just not good at this tracking thing. ā˜ŗ Still, Iā€™m at the halfway point!

If you can believe this, I used to be really bad at reading; English as a second language and all that. I had a teacher who really encouraged/forced me to read as a way to build up my vocabulary and well, the rest was history. Once I started, I just couldnā€™t stop. In a matter of two months, I went from a second grade reading level to a tenth grade level. I was in 6th grade at the time. So, when I hear people diss on programs like Accelerated Readers and Battle of the Books I just want to tell everyone to hush, because that stuff works- I am proof of that. I believe in programs like that and I believe in books. šŸ“– šŸ“–

By the time I was in high school I had my way through so many of those ā€œ50 books to read beforeā€¦.ā€ lists. You can imagine that most of the books I read were classics. Great Expectations is still one of my favorite books hands down. When I finally ventured into read other books, I started off reading murder mysteries like Agatha Christie and scary type books like Stephen King. It wasnā€™t until I read a Wrinkle in Time and a Golden Compass that I discovered the awesomeness of Fantasy. I think the first time I read Harry Potter was when I was in tenth grade. There was no contest after that.

I promise there is a point to this. Have you noticed? I havenā€™t read/discovered romance books yet.

My friends will tell you that Iā€™m the romantic type.šŸ’˜ I canā€™t much deny that anymore because as youā€™ve noticed, almost everything I read is romance with a just little bit of paranormal/urban fantasy sprinkled in. Itā€™s actually hilarious. I used to tell people that romance novels just werenā€™t my type because it was all insta-love, fairy tale types. šŸ’‘ Oh how the times have changed. Plus, I was young and didnā€™t realize that romance is SO MUCH more than that.

Since 100 is a lot of books, let’s recap!

These are my top 10 in the order that I read them. Yes, I cheated and I donā€™t even care.

  1. Seventh Grave and No Body by Daryanda Jones
  2. The Mason List by S.D. Hendrickson
  3. Stupid Girl by Cindy Miles
  4. Volition by Lily Paradis [Read my review here.]
  5. When I Fall by J. Daniels
  6. The 5 Stages of Falling in Love by Rachel Higginson
  7. Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews
  8. Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi (Ignite Me is my favorite)
  9. The Deal by Elle Kennedy
  10. More than This series by Jay McLean (More Than Forever is my favorite) [ Read my review here.]

65581-seventhgrave06a3c-the2bmason2blistcb518-stupid2bgirlf1986-volitiondd1f2-when2bi2bfall050d5-5stagesc82ab-burn2bfor2bme526c5-thedeal15fab-shatter2bme07807-unravelme61cfd-morethanthisbc875-morethanher7882c-morethanhim3d0d7-morethanforever-jp

If this were a top 20, I would have also included these (also in the order that I read them):

  1. Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fischer
  2. Heart of Marley by T.K. Leigh
  3. The Waiting Room by Alysha Kaye [ Read my review here.]
  4. Thoughtless Series by S.C. Stephens (Thoughtless is my favorite)
  5. Clear by Jessica Park
  6. Under Different Stars by Amy A Bartol
  7. Beautiful Secret by Christina Lauren
  8. Infinity + One by Amy Harmon
  9. Forever Red by Carina Adams
  10. Trust Me, Iā€™m Lying by Mary Elizabeth Summer

Never Nevere88d9-heart2bof2bmarley078a4-waiting2broom6478c-thoughtless69462-effortless1cee7-reckless

99f8a-clear7da67-underdifwidthde63d-beautifulsecreta4a40-infinitydb2a3-foreverred8f465-trust2bme

 

Leave a Reply

