Book Review: More Than Series | Jay McLean

Book Review: More Than series by Jay McClean

I confess: I’m in love with this series.

It just speaks to me.

If that makes me a romantic, well then you call me a rose then.

Let’s just get this out of the way:

Yes, this is YA romance.
Yes, that means it takes place during the transition from high school to college phase.
Yes, it’s one of those stubborn dependent female saved by alpha male situation.
Yes, it is kind of insta-lovey.

BUT each story is just so tragically beautiful. Look past the crazy defining moments that pushes the characters together and focus on the issues the couples’ endure. If you’ve ever had a relationship issue, you’ll probably see it mirrored in one of these stories. I totally feel their pain. My heart hurts for them. Just thinking about it makes my chest tight. I’m a little dramatic.

Currently there are four novels in the series, the next installment (perhaps final?) comes out July 12th. I think the boyfriend and I are supposed to be leaving for our trip that day. Guess what I’m doing on the plane! I know it’s our anniversary trip, but if this is Heidi’s and Dylan’s story, there has to be an exception.

If you’re looking for something new to read and….

You want a romance with three dimensional characters, where you continually get to learn more about the characters you love throughout the series.

Do you need more convincing?

Okay. The series is also available on Kindle Unlimited. So go, download them. Read them. Fall in love with them and then wait anxiously with me for the next book with me. Is it July yet?

Reading Order:

  1. More Than This
  2. More Than Her
  3. More Than Him
  4. More Than Forever
  5. More Than Enough ← doesn’t  come out for a while. Sad Face emoticon! (if you read the books you’ll understand)

More Than This

First book of the series. This is where we first meet the gang that we’ll be learning about in the following books.

http://www.amazon.com/More-Than-This-Book-ebook/dp/B00LU5EJR4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1430781569&sr=8-1&keywords=more+than+this+series+by+jay+mcleanThis story is about Mikayla (aka Micky aka Kayla) and Jake (aka kind of a big deal soon-to-be MLB star). The two meet when Mikayla walks in on her boyfriend of 4 years in the after sex phase with her best friend since 5th grade. Have I mentioned that their on the way to their prom? No, well they are. Also, Jake plays witness to the whole scene. Maybe he feels bad for her, but Jake ends up inviting her to attend prom at his school with his friends. She accepts.

They spend the night going from one activity to another with his friends and when he goes to take her home at the end of it, tragedy strikes. I’m not going to tell you what happens, but this is one of those crazy character defining moments. The result is that their pushed together permanently. You watch their relationship grow, you watch the characters grow.

Jake is just so sweet. Honey ain’t got nothing on him. And Mikayla? The way she wants to make it on her own, it makes sense. Who wants to be defined by their spouse? No. One. Their issues just make sense. And their story? Awesome.

And the ending? W.T.F. Next book, now, please.

Favorite Quote:

“He’s not the hearts-and-flowers kind of guy—he’s the heart-and-soul kind, and fuck if every girl would rather have that than the flowers.”

More Than Her

We learn of Logan during the first book, but at this point he’s just the asshole playboy. At least that’s all anyone expects of him. Poor misunderstood player, whatever will he do with all those girls. I honestly don’t hate him, I’m just making it seem that way. It seems though that I fell into the same trap that everyone else did? I didn’t expect anything from him. I thought he was just the comic relief. Totally wrong.

Amanda we meet during Mikayla’s story. We don’t know much about her. But we learn quickly though that her and Logan have a history. Is this a case of girl falls in love after one date and the boy never calls? We. Don’t. Know.

No seriously. I can’t tell you because if I did, I’d have to tell you everything that happens and then you’d probably want to kill me. I’m not going to tell you that Amanda is broken. I’m not going to tell you that Logon is broken. I’m not going to tell you about Logan’s character reveal. I’m not going to tell you what the climax is but OH. MY. GOD.

This can’t be the end. It can’t. Next one, please.

Favorite quote:

“I want to feel everywhere he’s felt. I want to replace the memory of his touch with mine. I don’t want a single part of your body to not know my hands.”

More Than Him

Thankfully it’s not.

We get more Logan & Amanda in this story. I think Jay McLean basically broke our hearts with this story. I can’t tell you why or how without telling you what happened in the last one, but seriously, when you read, maybe grab a couple (boxes of) tissues.

Even after the end of this one, I’m still a little sad. Can we get a little happy?

Lucy and Cameron have been our constant in the series. They’ve been in love since they were 15 and most of this story is everything you’ve been wanting to know: how they met, how they fell in love, how THEY came to be. Seriously, it’s fairy tale sweet and this is my favorite story in the series. I just relate.

Favorite Quote:

“I think he needed to know that he was doing something to help fix me. Honestly, I really didn’t think I was that broken.”

More Than Forever

e3a69-morethanforever-jpLucy and Cameron have been our constant in the series. They’ve been in love since they were 15 and most of this story is everything you’ve been wanting to know: how they met, how they fell in love, how THEY came to be. Seriously, it’s fairy tale sweet and this is my favorite story in the series. I just relate. So because it’s my favorite, I’m going to bypass my one quote, one book minimum for this review. I think this story is just the perfect example of how every relationship needs effort. They aren’t magic. They don’t just magically work.

Cameron is just….perfect. I can’t even find words for him. I just want to tell every guy I’ve ever met to take notes, and pay attention.

This is how Cameron makes you fall in love with him with a couple of sentences:

 “If you’re having insecurities, that’s my fault, and I’ll try to fix it. But you should know that I only ever see you, and only you, and that’s the way it’s been since we were fifteen.”

I want this. I mean I have this, but sometimes I disagree with Lucy. Fictional characters read so much better than real life does. I mean how beautiful was this scene:

“ “I’m sorry,” Lucy cries.

And I break.

But I don’t show it.

Because I need to be her strength.

Even when I have none. ”

This story is like hearing that your parents are going to get divorced. We all can’t understand why it doesn’t work because Cameron and Lucy are forever. What do you mean they have problems? What do you mean they can’t make it work?

“You guys are forever. If you two can’t make it work, then we’re all screwed.”

This is my favorite in the series so far. I just can’t even handle it. Just talking about it makes me all emotional. I don’t know if I should read it again or if I should tell convince my boyfriend to comfort me because my heart still feels like it’s breaking. I just want Cameron and Lucy to be happy.

Favorite Quote:

“I just think you should maybe talk to him, Lucy. I think that that fifteen-year-old kid who gave up his world and made you it deserves that. Don’t you?”

Maybe it’s a good thing the next book isn’t out for a couple of months. It’ll give me time to heal.At this point though, I’m not sure if I should read this book again or give myself time to breathe. Air is overrated, right?

Leave a Reply

